View this page in



Property Tax Information

Property Taxes                                

Beginning in 2015, City of Newnan property taxes have been billed and collected by the Coweta County Tax Commissioner.  Prior to that year, City residents received two seperate tax bills with two different due dates.  Now all Coweta County residents and businesses receive one tax bill, due and payable by December 1st to the Coweta County Tax Commissioner.  Click here for the City's current year property tax digest and 5-year history of the levy.

Please note that the City of Newnan will continue to collect all delinquent City taxes for years 2014 and prior.  The delinquent taxes must be paid directly to the City of Newnan, not the County Tax Commissioner.  Please call 770-254-2351 for payment of delinquent City taxes. The delinquent taxes can also be paid by check or in person at City Hall, 25 LaGrange Street.

The Newnan City Council sets the millage rate each year in the summer based on digest information provided by Coweta County.  The 2020 millage rate of 3.643 was set by Council in August.  The 2019 millage rate was 3.989 mills per thousand dollars of assessed value, which is slightly less than the 4.0 millage rate for 2018.   

What property is taxed? All real estate and personal property are taxable unless law has exempted the property (O.C.G.A. 48-5-3.) “Real Property” is land and generally anything that is erected, growing or affixed to the land; personal property is everything that can be owned that is not real estate. “Personal property” typically consists of inventory and fixtures used in conducting a business, such as boats, aircraft, farm machinery, motor vehicles and mobile homes. The contents of your household are not normally taxable unless they are used for a home-based business.